Blog 1 Week 3

 Creative- In either prose or verse write a passage that tells Matthew why there is more to life than books. You can look at ‘The Tables Turned’ for some of your ideas.

NF
Own Image taken at Niagara Falls, Ontario Canada 2014

Growing up I was always told to read books. I was told that within the pages of short stories, novels and poetry I would find knowledge and the answer to all my questions. But as I get older, I learn that there is so much more to life than what is explored in books.

A few years ago, I was holidaying in the United States with my family, last minute we decided to drive to Canada for a few days to end our trip. The first place we visited when we got to Canada was Niagara Falls (I know, very touristy) but as I stood in wonder staring at these beautiful waterfalls, I felt a sense of peace and serenity. I could have gazed at this beautiful work of nature for days. Looking back at this experience, I realised that no poem, no novel, no short story would have given me that same feeling.

There is a kind of beauty in nature that no book can recreate and it can only be captured if we allow nature to become a part of us. Thus, if we bury ourselves in books we allow ourselves to become removed. In nature, we can find beauty and gain the answers and understanding that we are searching for. Books dissect every small detail of objects, situations and events to create meaning but in the process destroy their beauty. Sometimes life becomes tough and books can offer an escape from our chaotic lives. But it is always important to remember that we can often find knowledge and learn life’s biggest lessons through nature.

3 thoughts on “Blog 1 Week 3

Add yours

  1. This was a great anecdotal piece that captured what Wordsworth was telling Matthew in ‘The Tables Turned’. This experience gives audiences a perfect example of how captivating nature can be, more so than books.You have highlighted the notion of immersion into nature that I feel Wordsworth was also trying to convey. Your piece develops a sense of self-growth: from glorifying books and their knowledge, to the understanding, that comes with age and experience, of the emotional impetus that nature constantly unceasingly allows for. I feel this piece could have been improved by an extension of the experiences and emotions encountered at Niagara falls.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

